Worried I could have borderline personality disorder

Posted by karMen @karmen, Feb 26, 2012

hi, i'm a 23 yr old female worried about having some sort of personality disorder( borderline). I've read a lot about it and seem to have most of the symptoms. I'm currently going through a few example depression and thoughts of hurting myself. I havn't mentioned it to anyone because where i'm from, these things are immediately seen as madness and one could be locked up in a mental insitution immediately without proper care. I need to know for sure if i'm really suffering from the disease or not and what i can do about it.

Interested in more discussions like this? Go to the Mental Health Support Group.

My wife has BPD. The fact that you are even willing to consider that you have it is significant, as most people with it supposedly won't.

I'm not an expert nor a professional on the topic. But I obviously have experience with my wife. I've also read several books and articles on the topic, and I have some experience talking with a psychologist about it. Probably the best advice I can give you is to try and find a mental health provider with experience treating BPD. Since it sounds like you may be from a smaller community, you may want to search for one in a different city. Larger cities are more likely to have someone with more experience as well. Counseling has been found to be very effective. They may also prescribe medication to help with the depression.

@lawman82

My wife has BPD. The fact that you are even willing to consider that you have it is significant, as most people with it supposedly won't.