Eosinophilic Esophagitis

Welcome to the Mayo Clinic Eosinophilic Esophagitis page. EoE is a relatively new diagnosis and is most commonly experienced via food sticking with swallowing in adults. This is a result of an allergic response in the esophagus. We are a leading center for research and clinical care.

Follow this page to read up on news in our EoE clinic, including patient experiences, physician insight, clinical trials and up-to-date research and other useful information about EoE. Post a comment, share your thoughts and be connected.

 

PUBLIC PAGE
Tue, Jun 11 4:18pm

Meet the SFED Food: Wheat

By Crystal Lavey, @crystallavey

WheatWheat is a grain used to make many common foods, such as breads, cakes, cereal, crackers, and pasta. However, it can also be found in less obvious sources, such as beer, soy sauce, salad dressing, soups, and play dough. A wheat allergy occurs when an individual’s immune system has an unusual reaction to the protein found in wheat.

Where Is It Found?

Wheat can be called many names – here are a few to watch out for:

  • Flours made from wheat (including all-purpose, bread, cake, enriched, wheat)
  • Couscous
  • Spelt
  • Wheat bran
  • Wheat germ
  • Farro
  • Semolina
  • Bulgur
  • Graham
  • Farina

How Can You Substitute It?

Does your baking recipe call for wheat flour? Try substituting flour made from rice, potato starch or corn. Many grocery stores sell gluten free all-purpose flours too. A combination of wheat free flours usually works best for baking. Wheat free baking generally results in a more crumbly texture and a shorter rise. Here’s a recipe for gluten free flour blend:

  • 1 ½ cups brown rice flour
  • 1 ½ cups potato starch
  • 1 cup tapioca flour/starch
  • Mix all ingredients together. Store in an air-tight container. Makes 4 cups.

Does your recipe call for wheat flour as a thickening agent? Try using cornstarch, tapioca or arrowroot flour or a gluten free flour.

Does your recipe call for breadcrumbs for a coating? Try using cornmeal, crushed potato or corn chips, crushed wheat-free crackers, crushed rice or corn cereal, or ground seeds, such sesame or pumpkin.

Making a sandwich or using a tortilla? Try using a lettuce leaf, corn tortilla or a slice of gluten free bread – if you have other allergies, be sure they are also free from other allergens.

Try wheat free grains, such as gluten free oats, millet, rice, quinoa, amaranth, pure buckwheat or cornmeal.

Is Gluten Free The Same As Wheat Free?

Gluten free foods are wheat free, but some gluten free foods contain soy, dairy or other allergens. Be sure to read the ingredient list if you have other allergies.

 Here's a recipe for a cake that uses gluten free flour, vinegar and oil:

Wacky Cake

1½ cups gluten free all-purpose baking flour

1 cup sugar

3 Tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 teaspoon vinegar

¼ cup plus 1 Tablespoon oil

1 cup cold water

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  In a large bowl, mix flour, sugar, cocoa, baking soda and salt.

Make three wells in the flour mixture.

In one well put the vanilla; in another well put the vinegar and in the third well add the oil.

Pour the cold water over the mixture and stir until moistened.

Pour into an 8x8 inch pan.  Bake 25-30 minutes (or until it springs back when lightly touched).

Sourced from www.foodallergy.org

 

Do you have a favorite wheat-free recipe or substitution?

Please login or register to post a reply.

Invite Others

Send an email to invite people you know to join the Eosinophilic Esophagitis page.

Please login or register to send an invite.